Bacon and Tomato Potato Cake

Both of us got hooked to Luxbite’s breakfast menu Feta Potato Cake after having it when it was 1st introduce into the menu.  It’s the new version of hash brown. Slightly saltish from the feta and sweet from the potato.  The combination just works wonderfully.

Feta Potato Cake, the new harsh brown

While flipping through my cookbook one day, I came upon this recipe for Bacon and Tomato Potato Cake.

Found my Sunday breakky : Bacon and Tomato Cake

Immediately I made it my coming weekend breakky dish. Honestly, I think I made quite a mess in the kitchen. I cooked the potatoes in a big pot of water. Either the potatoes were overcooked or not drained throughly, I find the mash too watery. Adding in tomatoes to the mixture made it worst. In the end, I had to use quite a bit of flour in order to assist me in shaping the mixture. I was afraid adding too much flour will cause the cake to be hard but that doesn’t seem to be. But the cake just break into pieces when I cut into it 😦 Lucky it still taste good. Any dish that has bacon will taste great isn’t it?

Trying not to use too much flour

Within 4 weeks, I had already made the potato cake twice. The 1st time, I served the cake with a poached egg, mushroom and half a toast. It was my 1st time poaching egg. It’s either boiled, sunny side-up or omelette from my kitchen. What do you think? Pass?

IMG_2690

The 2nd time I made it, I tweaked the recipe slightly. Tomato used were still slightly under ripe, I find ripe or over ripe tomato gives out too much juice after chopped. I also made sure I don’t overcooked the potato. This time round. the mixture was perfect! No flour was required at all.

I served it with smoked salmon, half a tomato (I had extra), sunny side up, half a wholemeal muffin and sour cream.

IMG_2751

Like the way I plate it?

 

Cookbook : Leiths Meat Bible

Author : Max Clark & Susan Spaull

Serves 4

2 tbsp oil

200g bacon lardons

500g cooked, stiff Mashed Potatos

2 ripe plum tomatoes, deseeded and diced

salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 tbsp finely chopped chives, plus extra for garnish

flour, for shaping and dusting

300g unsalted butter

Heat 1/2 tbsp of oil in a frying pan. Fry bacon lardons until crisp and drown. Drain on kitchen paper.

Put mashed potato into a large mixing bowl. Add tomatoes, chives and bacon lardons. Season with salt and pepper and mix together well.

Lightly flour a work surface and your hands, then shape the potato mixture into 4 round cakes about 1cm thick. Place on a floured tray and chill for 15mins.

Wipe the frying pan with kitchen paper, then heat the remaining oil in it. Fry the cakes for 11/2mins. Add the butter to the pan and fry for further 2-3mins, or until nicely browned and hot through. Drain on kitchen paper and sprinkle with a little salt.

Potato cakes can be made the day before and then cooked as required. 

Leave a Reply

