Carolina Pulled Pork

I learned about this dish, Pulled Pork 2 years ago? when everyone was cooking, tweeting and blogging about it. I came across this recipe on my Meat Bible cookbook and so far I had only cooked it twice but reckon it was a fail-proof recipe. Although preparation is lengthy, but totally worth it. Meat taste a bit spicy ,sourish and not dry because of the sauce.

The 1st time I cooked this dish, I had it as sandwich style for lunch with avocado and fresh greens salad. Easy, Simple and Yummy!

IMG_2700

The 2nd time, I had it as taco style. With avocado, tomatoes and spanish onion all diced finely. Served with some sour cream and shredded cheese. I would loved to try make my own taco wrap next time instead of store bought. Leftover was made into sandwich again for lunch. Win!

Cookbook : Leiths Meat Bible

Author : Max Clark & Susan Spaull

Serves 8

1 * 1.8kg boneless pork shoulder roast (I used pork belly instead as that’s what I had in my fridge)

about 750ml chicken stock

For Spice Rub

2 tbsp smoked paprika

2 tbsp dark muscovado sugar (I substituted to brown sugar as that’s what I had in my pantry)

1 tbsp mild chilli powder

1 tsp cracked black pepper

1 tsp dry English mustard

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/2 tsp celery salt (normal salt?)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

For the Sauce

reserved cooking liquid

150ml cider vinegar

150ml tomato ketchup

2 tbsp dark muscovado sugar (used brown sugar) 

salt, as required

Remove the rind and fat from the pork shoulder. If necessary, open it out so that the meat is of even thickness, about 4cm. (Even though I used pork belly with skin on, I did not remove the skin nor purposely remove the visible fat. I find it easier to remove the skin and fat after it’s cooked)

Combine all the ingredients for the spice rub in a bowl. Using your hands, rub the mixture into the meat.

Place the meat into a non-corrosive dish, cover with cling film and chilli overnight.

Heat a barbecue (or gill if absolutely necessary) to a medium heat, then brown the meat on all sides to cook the spices. The meat will not be cooked at this point. (I did it on a fry-pan sitting on the stove. Do use medium-low fire and cooked it slowly in order not to burn the spices)

IMG_2694
IMG_2697

Heat the oven to 150 degrees.

Place the meat in an overproof casserole dish in which it fits snugly. Add enough stock to cover.

Place in the oven and cook for 3-4 hours, or until the meat can be shredded with a fork. Although the meat will be a bit dry at this point, it will rehydrated by the sauce.

Remove the meat from the casserole dish and placed on a heatproof dish.

Skim the fat from the cooking liquid, then add the sauce ingredients. Boil to reduce until just syrupy. Taste and add salt, if necessary.

Using two forks, shred the pork into bite-sized chunks. Place in a deep heatproof dish. (Remove the pork skin and fat while shredding.)

Pour over the sauce and leave to stand for 1 hour, or chilli overnight, so that the meat absorbs it. (I had it overnight)


IMG_2698

To serve, reheat gently and serve on maps to with rice.

2 thoughts on “Carolina Pulled Pork

  1. I am still looking for the perfect pulled pork recipe. This looks daaaaaamn good! I’ll be trying this one next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

