Banana Pancake with Golden Syrup

Is pancake more for breakfast or dessert or both? I only have it for breakky and never for dessert. There’s such a huge variety of dessert to chose from and pancake has never being my choice for dessert.

I had tried quite a few pancake recipe from all different cookbook and magazine. When comparing them to each other, they do have slight different from each other. But this recipe which I tried recently stand out. It was fluffy and pancake cooked beautifully! Is it because of the recipe or I’m starting to be a master of making pancake?

I could not resist myself not to post this photo. Aren’t they beautiful? All coloured evenly.

IMG_2991

I kept the cooked pancake under a clean kitchen towel to keep it warm while I continue cooking. What is your way of keeping it warm? Any tips or tricks?

I did a slight tweaked on the recipe. Instead of mixing the banana into the batter, I sliced the banana and served it on the side. I also sliced some strawberry and orange for myself. These are the two fruits which Mr. avoids.

IMG_2990
IMG_2997

Cookbook : Good Living – Spring

Author : Jill Dupleix

Makes 10

150g plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

A pinch of salt

2 eggs, separated

1 tbsp caster sugar

250ml milk

1 tsp vegetable oil

2 bananas

Oil or butter for the pan (skipped as I used non-stick pan)

50g macadamia nuts (substitute with fresh fruits)

Icing sugar for dusting (skipped)

Golden syrup for serving (substitute with pure maple syrup)

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl and make a well in the centre.

In a second bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, sugar, milk and oil, then pour into the dry ingredients, whisking until smooth, but not over-mixing.

Strain to remove any lumps and rest in the fridge for 30 minutes. (Reckon it’s very important to strain the batter. Thought I can skipped it as it looks pretty well combined but found lots of lumps.) 

Peel and slice the bananas and stir into the batter. (I mashed the bananas the 1st time I made this as the bananas were overripe, this made the pancake really sweet. But do be careful when cooking as it burns easily)

Beat the egg whites until peaky, and gently fold into the batter.

Heat 1 tsp oil or butter in a hot non-stick frying pan and add 2 tbsp of banana batter. Cook over gentle heat for 2 minutes, until golden brown, turn once and cook for a further minute or until golden brown. Repeat with remaining batter.

Lightly crush the macadamias. Serve two pancakes per person, dust with icing sugar and scatter with macadamias. Serve with golden syrup.

Leave a Reply

