Mr. 2013 Birthday Cake – LuxBite Heilala Vanilla Caramel Brownie

This post is definitely way overdue but I enjoyed this recipe so much that I can’t help not to share.
Sharing = Caring = Loving

Agree?

Mr. 3rd birthday cake, Heilala Vanilla Caramel Brownie. Recipe by @luxbite  I thought I over baked and thinking of baking another batch but lucky I didn't coz it's still moist ☺ & YUMMY  @luxbitebern @poppyen

I was hesitating whether to bake Mr. a birthday cake this year. Should I get his favourite pastry chef to help me make one and save me the time and trouble? Or I should still stick to my annual ritual? My dilemma was answered when I stepped into LuxBite before his birthday.

I walked out with a jar of LuxBite Heilala Vanilla Caramel Spread and the Brownie recipe card in hand very assured that Mr. will love this as his birthday cake. BUT provided I don’t over bake it. *STRESS*

Also hoping Mr. is not expecting LuxBite/Bernard super high standard that he set for himself although it’s his recipe.

Mr. 2013 birthday  by me. #luxbite

Other than my ugly coating and decorating, Mr. loved it! It was very moist inside as you can see it from the photo below. I’m suspecting partly because of the Heilala Vanilla Caramel Spread in the middle. I did mixed it up a bit before I popped it into the oven.

Some might start to question why I said that and will it work if uses homemade caramel. What’s the different between LuxBite caramel spread and homemade. Honestly I don’t know BUT I had tried making salted caramel and used it to baked Salted Caramel Brownie before but the end product was totally different. Caramel turned out to be hard instead after baking which resulted in a much more drier texture brownie.  I had used and baked this recipes twice now and both time turned out perfectly.

Avo tea time!

Source : LuxBite

Heilala Vanilla Caramel Brownies

150g Callebaut Dark Chocolate

225g Unsalted Butter

4 Eggs

400g Caster Sugar

150g Plain Flour

2 pinches Murray River Pink Salt Flakes

150g Walnuts, chopped (Can’t find any in pantry so missed it)

1 jar Heilala Vanilla Caramel Spread

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Grease and line the base of a 25cm square pan.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, then set aside to cool.

Mix eggs, sugar and salt together in a bowl without incorporating too much air. Add into the chocolate mixture, mix well.

Sieve flour onto the chocolate mixture and fold into it. Do this in 3 steps.

Fold in the walnuts, pour half the mixture into cake pan, spread a jar of Heilala Vanilla Caramel on the mixture, then finish off with the remaining mixture and bake for 35-40 minutes.

Leave to cool in the pan, then cut into rectangular ready for chocolate coating.

For Coating

400g Callebaut Dark Chocolate

20g Vegetable Oil

Freeze Dried Whole Raspberry and Banana Chips ( I omitted both as there’s none in the pantry, used decorating sprinkles)

Piedmontese Hazelnut, peeled and lightly crushed (skipped it too coz too lazy LOL)

Melt the chocolate and oil in a bowl over saucepan of simmering water.

Arrange all the sliced brownies onto a wire rack. Pour melted chocolate over the brownies to cover completely, garnish the top separately with raspberry, banana and hazelnut to get 3 varieties of brownies. Let the chocolate coating set and enjoy.

Working frm home today and having really simple but satisfying lunch. Candied Bakery Baguette with butter and shared a Crusty Brownie Pie with Mr. I'm glad I gave in when the lady behind the counter told us it's too good to give it a miss. I microwave it

2 weeks ago after early breakky at Duchess of Spotswood, we popped into next door Candied Bakery to check the place out and to get some bread for the week. I had heard so much about it on Instagram. I was so tempted when I saw Crunchy Brownie Pie displayed at the counter! The lady behind the cash register managed to convince me I can’t leave without a slice and I’m GLAD that I took her word.

It was amazing! Crunchy base, slightly salty and moist, gooey inside. It was to die for and hating myself not to get another slice as I have to share it with Mr.

I decided to try recreate it at home since I now have a favourite brownie recipe. So I went online and did a hunt and make a slight tweak to LuxBite Brownie recipe. It was a success although I will still tweak the recipe slightly next time I bake it!

Mr. did a good job nursing me back to health.Being a good wife, I obey his thirst by baking @luxbite Heilala Vanilla Caramel Brownies with a slight twist, pretzel base.

Pretzel Base (found online)

1 1/2 cup Pretzel, crushed (I didn’t crush the pretzel till fine. I only break each pretzel to about 4 pieces. Most probably used more than required, I just estimate and make sure I’m able to cover the base of the baking pan)

1/2 cup Butter, melted (I will definitely decreased the amount used as I felt the brownie was too oily when I took it out from the pan. I actually used kitchen paper towel to absorbed some of the butter while I cut into slices after cooled) 

2 1/2 Tbs Sugar

Mixed all ingredients together, spread onto baking pan and bake at 180degrees for 8 mins.

Cool for 10mins before pouring in the Brownie mixture.

14 thoughts on “Mr. 2013 Birthday Cake – LuxBite Heilala Vanilla Caramel Brownie

    • No worries! Was always left half written in my draft folder. Yes the pretzel did stay crunchy. Think just need to make sure dun mash the pretzel too finely.

  1. Oooh the pretzel base sounds amazing! Love the look of the brownie.. I want a slice for breakfast right now! haha

  2. Both cakes look great! Lucky Mr. 🙂

    Candied Bakery is a favourite of mine, but I still haven’t tried any of the cakes at LuxBite! Must go soon.

Leave a Reply

