Pandan Butter Cupcake with Gula Melaka Mascarpone Frosting

I was itchy to bake but didn’t want something to complicated. So I decided to try this recipe which I came upon while surfing food blogs. Plus I was craving for Aisan style sweets.

Pandan Butter Cupcake with Gula Melaka Mascarpone Frosting There's a never ending list of baked goodies which I want to try or perfect. How am I going to achieve trying it all??

I did some tweaking to the recipe along the way. Instead of using a mini cupcake tray, I used a cupcake/muffin tray instead. Managed to divide the mixture equally into 12 at 55g each. As the size of each cake is bigger than the recipe, I baked it at 170 degrees for 17 minutes.

I didn’t use the stated quantity of pandan paste as I felt 45g is a lot. Plus my paste is really concentrated as I had managed to drain off all the liquid used to make the pandan paste. So I used 10g of homemade pandan extract and topped up with coconut. The smell of pandan was really strong after baked.

Because I top up the pandan + coconut mixture with more coconut, after baked I found a layer of fat at the bottom on the cupcake liner. Got to remind myself to reduce the amount of butter next time.

Tonight dessert : Pandan Butter Cake with Gula Melaka Mascarpone Icing - cake is moist but crumply. Can taste pandan by itself but covered by gula once frosted. Need to work on the icing as it's too watery.

I always wanted to try pairing two of my favorite ingredients pandan cake and gula melaka together. Since  I had some gula melaka syrup in the fridge and pandan cupcake on the bench top cooling. Decided to give it a go but didn’t really want to start whipping butter with icing and add more fat into the cake. Especially the cake had already shown sign of obese LOL. I had a tube of mascarpone cheese that need to use but was afraid it will turn out really strange. I had search on google and tried to find a frosting recipe which uses only mascarpone, gula melaka and icing sugar . But sadly, I couldn’t find anything.

In the end I just dump all 3 ingredients into a big mixing bowl and started whipping by hand till combined. Frosted one for Mr. to taste test and hope for the best. Lucky Mr. loves it. But the frosting was too liquid to be pipe so I just have to spread it on.

The cake turned out very moist with a thin layer of crush on top but too crumbly for my liking. Also felt the frosting covers the pandan flavour.

Source: Anncoo Journal

Mini Pandan Butter Cake

180g Butter, room temperature

80g Caster sugar
2 Eggs, 65g, lightly beaten
45g Pandan extract **
35g Coconut milk
220g Self raising flour
1 tsp Baking powder

Combine pandan extract and coconut milk together and mix well. (Is ok if you don’t get enough 45g of pandan extract, just top up with coconut milk.)
Cream butter and sugar until light. Gradually add beaten egg into mixture and beat until fluffy at medium speed.
Sieve in all the self raising flour, baking powder and coconut milk mixture. Gently fold well the mixture with a rubber spatula.
Spoon mixture into into small cupcake liner or lightly greased/cooking spray on small muffin pan.
Bake at preheated oven at 165 degrees C for about 12 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer.
Best to serve warm. Store the small cakes in an airtight container and re-heat for 8-10 minutes before consuming.

Note:
– Used a 12 cupcake/muffin tray.
– Baked the cupcake for 17 minutes at 170 degrees oven .
– Used 10g of homemade pandan extract and topped up with coconut.

Leave a Reply

