Raspberry Yogurt Cake

I have a wonderful mother and she loves butter cake. She’s also super fussy when it comes to food and especially on cakes and bread.

I have being hunting for a butter cake recipe which there’s a chance that will gain her approval tick. When I came across a post Michelle wrote on BSB Sour Cream Raspberry Cake, follow by Lianne and all the positive comments on Instagram, I was sold.

I finally got to try the recipe weeks later and love it! The cake was so moist, buttery and with the raspberry adding a bit of acidity. I baked a full recipe but was too much for the two of us. So I split and baked them using two tins. One for ourselves and the other for our next door neighbour.

I finally baked after "talking" about it for weeks!!!! *finger-cross"

Doesn’t the heart shape end product looks pretty just by itself? I did question Mr. how I should slice it when I don’t want to cut the heart down right in the middle. He wasn’t of any help 😦

Does anybody face a similar problem as me?

Errrr how to cut???

When I took the 1st bite, I know I have to bake this cake for Mummy when she arrives for her vacation. It’s exactly what I’m searching. There’s a extreme high possibility that Mummy will enjoy this cake.

Daughter knows Mummy best! Mummy loves it!

I did tweak the recipe when I baked it for Mummy. There wasn’t any sour cream in the fridge and I was too lazy to pop into Coles to grab a tub so I replace with plain yogurt. I also left out the pears and replace it with blackberry since I got a huge punnet of raspberry and blackberry from the Farmers Market that weekend. It turned out gorgeous!

Immediately Daddy requested to learn how to bake this. He wants to be able to bake for his wife and grandkids to enjoy when back in Singapore. I tweaked the recipe even more the 3rd time as I felt the cake was still covered with a layer of grease even after I replace sour cream with plain yogurt. So I tried reducing the amount of sugar and butter and prayed.

298

My prayer was answered. The cake turned out perfectly moist inside. The different we did notice was it formed a harder and thicker crust. That didn’t bother us as it added additional texture to the cake.

Raspberry Yogurt Cake

200g unsalted butter, room temperature
200g caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla bean paste
4 eggs, room temperature
200g plain yogurt
300g self-raising flour, sifted
fresh or frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 170 degrees celcius. Line baking paper at the base of a 28cm baking tin, and grease the tin.

In a mixer, cream the butter and caster sugar till light and fluffy.

Add the vanilla bean paste and mix till well combined.

Add the eggs, one at a time, making sure they are well incorporated before each addition.

Alternate the flour and sour cream in 3 batches and mix it on low speed till well combined.
ie. Add 1/3 of yogurt then 1/3 flour then 1/3 yogurt then 1/3 flour then 1/3 yogurt again follow by 1/3 flour

Use a spatula to scoop the batter into the tin, and spread it out until the top is smooth. Arrange the raspberries evenly around the tin.

Bake for 40 mins, then cover the baking tin with foil and continue baking for another 20-30 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.

Remove from the oven and allow it to cool in the baking tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack. If you intend to cut rounds out of the cake, do make sure the cake is completely cooled before doing so, or it would crumble!

NOTE:

–          The mixture look curded after adding in eggs. Don’t worry as mixture will  look normal after adding in flour.

–          Do not need to push raspberry down into the mixture while adding them. They tend to sink while baking.

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Yogurt Cake

  1. This is great Liz and so beautiful. I think there’s never a right way to cut a heart-shaped cake! I’ve baked with yoghurt before, and it always results in a moist cake. best part is it allows less oil in the recipe, which means less calories so can eat MORE!!

Leave a Reply

