Choco-Moo Cheesecake (Japanese Style Cheesecake)

I grew up in a small but close family. I only have an elder sister.

We attended the kinder, primary school and secondary school. Mum used to dress us in the same clothing when we were young, I must had felt it sucks because it meant I’m stuck with the same clothing because of hand me down! Daddy also used to reward us with the same gifts like watch, school bags, shoes etc.

As our age gap is only 3 year apart, I used to hang out with her and her friends. Sis even exposed me to liquor and pub! We do have our differences and lots of fights too. Guess that’s what makes our relationship so strong.

She definitely has influences me a lot while growing up like dressing, tastebud, favourite idol, favourite food etc. One of the cake we both love is Japanese style baked Cheesecake.  We never failed to buy one for breakky/avo snack if we venture to City Hall or Orchard Road during the weekend. Sadly the stalls which we use to patron are no longer available in Singapore.

We shared it with our lovely neighbours and friends and all said it's was beautiful. We finished the last slice and I'm starting to miss it.  Need an excuse to bake another one and see whether I'm able to achieve the same texture!

Which is partly the reason why I’m constantly on the hunt searching for a recipe which is able to replicate the Cheesecake I missed. It wasn’t an easy task. Honestly I felt majority of the reason lies with my baking skill and not the recipe. After trying countless recipes and times, end product was either too dense, too dry, cracked on the top. It was no where near at all!

When I came across this recipe, viewed the video, I know I got to give it another try. It looks so similar to what I have being searching for. I didn’t dare to have great expectation for start knowing my baking skill on cheesecake is equivalent to zero.

BUT BUT BUT the end result was shocking! This was the best cheesecake I ever baked! The texture was light and smooth. There isn’t a single crack. It was evenly brown on the top. The sweetness was just right, I could easily eat the whole cake in one sitting if nobody stop me!! Till now I’m still not sure what I did right this time. I’m planning to bake it again before my vacation to see whether can I achieve the same result. I also want to tweak the recipe more. If it turns out the same, I’m going to bake Sister one when I’m in Singapore.

914317_710781678972793_1237740520_n

Choco-Moo Cheesecake
original recipe can be found here with the video

Cooling time 1 hour 30 minutes
Chilling time overnight
Need to begin this recipe 1 day ahead.

Chocolate ganache
110 g sweet chocolate
70 ml pouring cream

Cookie base ( I doubled the quantity as I’m using a bigger baking tin )
60g unsalted butter
200 g finely crushed Oreos with the cream removed ( cream is added into the cheesecake filling )

Cheesecake filling
250 g cream cheese, at room temperature ( as I don’t like wastage, I used the whole pack )
48 g caster sugar
3 eggs, at room temperature
9 g corn starch
5 drops vanilla extract
160 g sour cream, at room temperature
120 ml pouring cream
40 g  condensed milk ( I had some in the fridge )

Dark mixture
10 g sweet chocolate

Chocolate ganache
Roughly chop the chocolate and place it in a heatproof bowl.
Place cream in a small saucepan and bring to the boil. Remove from the heat immediately.
Pour the cream over the chocolate and whisk the mixture together until the chocolate is melted.
Cool to room temperature.
Roll 1 tsp of the ganache into a ball. Repeat with the remaining ganache.
Refrigerate the ganache balls until ready to use.
Note : Do it early. I left it too late and ganache didn’t set which I couldn’t roll into ball. So I just drop spoonful of it into the mixture.

Cookie base
Melt the butter and combine with the crushed cocoa cookie.
Press firmly into the base of a lined 20 cm cake tin.

Cheesecake filling
Whisk the cream cheese until it is smooth without lumps. ( I used a hand whisk )
Add the caster sugar and whisk until combined. ( Instead of adding it all at once, I split into 3 batches. Whisking each batch well combined )
Add the eggs one at a time, whisking each addition well before the next is added.
Whisk in the corn starch until combined.
Whisk in the vanilla, sour cream, pouring cream and milk jam.
Strain the mixture through a fine sieve, but do not push through any lumps. ( Felt this is a very important step which result in a very smooth texture )

Dark mixture
Melt the chocolate and mix through ¼ cup of the strained cheesecake filling. ( I misread this part and didn’t thin the chocolate mixture with cheesecake filling )

Preheat the oven to 185°C.
Pour the cheesecake filling on top of the cookie base, and tap the base firmly so that any bubbles rise to the surface.
Drop in balls of ganache and press lightly to submerge under the filling.
Using a spoon, use the dark mixture to create a cow pattern on the surface of the filling. ( Because I didn’t thin the mixture, instead of having cow pattern on the top, all the chocolate mixture which I piped sank to the bottom )
Place the cake tin inside a larger baking tray, and place in the oven.
Pour hot water into the larger tray until it comes halfway up the side of the cake tin.
Bake for 30 minutes, then reduce the temperature of the oven to 145°C. ( I covered the top with a foil as it looks like the top is browning too quickly after the 1st 30 mins baked time)
Bake for a further 40 minutes. ( Recipe says 30mins but I baked an additional 10 mins as the mixture looks very wobbly. It was still very wobbly in the end so I guess that additional 10 minutes makes no different. I was hoping it will set as it cooled further )
Continue to add boiling water to the larger baking tray, if necessary.
Allow the cheesecake to cool in the oven, then refrigerate overnight. ( I left the cheesecake in the oven to cool overnight and refrigerate the next morning )

Very keen to bake this Japanese Cheesecake again but with a slight twist.  Will it work without base? Marble Cheesecake?  Am I taking a huge risk if I add matcha and change it into Matcha Cheesecake? Will I still achieve the same texture??

4 thoughts on “Choco-Moo Cheesecake (Japanese Style Cheesecake)

  1. I’m a big fan of Japanese style cheesecakes! So light and fluffy indeed… ironically I’ve not eaten it whilst in Sg, but had it on Boxing day last year when one of Fatbee’s friends brought it to his party. OMG SO GOOOD!!!

    • Thanks 😀
      I was really happy how it turn out but I it was a disaster when I baked it the 2nd time……forgot to line the tin with foil and water seeped into the cheesecake 😥

Leave a Reply

